After Outreachy, What next?

After Outreachy, What next?

Career goals

Hi again, though this blog post is coming in a little later than expected, I believe I am writing this a little more enlightened and a little more ready for the next stage of my career in tech than I was before the internship, thanks to the Outreachy crew, Praveen and Akshay (my mentors at the Debian project), and members of the Debian community who are always eager to help out and even give career advice to newbies like myself.

After working a while with the Debian community and related a lot with folks already in the community, I have fallen in love with what is done there, and I think it is a really massive community with lots of good career opportunities, coupled with the fact that it will give me the opportunity to fulfil my open-source dreams at a professional level; I have decided to continue with the community, I would continue learning and contributing to the community with the aim of putting in a lot of work and dedication so that in the shortest possible time (giving myself 3 - 6 months after my internship) I would be able to earn my Debian maintainer badge and in another 3 - 9 months earn my Debian Developer badge.

As a Debian Developer, I would have the opportunity to work with organizations that Depend on Debian while being a part of the Debian project, just like my mentors and others in the community.

My goal, in summary, is to put in more effort in mastering all that needs to be known about Debian packaging to attain the Debian Developer badge in as short a time as possible. I believe that focus is very important in attaining success and since I already know what I want I will be focusing on it and dedicating time to it.

I am grateful to Outreachy for this opportunity; introducing me to the Debian community, I come from a part of the world where open-source is farfetched and very few people even know about it, talk more about contributing to it, as of today, I am one of the few folks from my country and continent who have a working idea of the open-source philosophy, practices, and contributing to an actual community.

Photo by Lukas from Pexels